What I’ve Been Doing Lately…

Wednesday, February 22nd, 2012

A casual checking of the dates between posts will show you how much I’ve been neglecting this blog of late. The main reason for that is that I started this as a review blog, but since then I’ve found other outlets for my work (more about those on the About page). As bizarre as this may seem for a man who writes reviews and opinion pieces, I don’t like writing about myself (and yet, look how easily the words flow!), so I tend to let the day-to-day annoyances stay confined to reality and thus there are no posts here.

So, what have I been doing since my last update?

Well, for one thing I got a gig writing theatre reviews for the Maidenhead Advertiser by exploiting the hell out of a connection I have. It’s unpaid at the moment but it’s a step in the right direction and I get to watch shows for free! (And if I was an alcoholic, the free drinks would’ve helped too!) I’m honestly proud of the stuff I’ve written for them, it’s some of the best stuff I’ve done.

Round about October, I got my dream job! It was at Waterstone’s in Windsor. And yes, I know working in a bookstore is a bit of a sad dream job to have but if you know me it’s also utterly predictable. I worked there for about three months or so but had to leave due to my temporary contract running out and their not having the hours to keep me on (and due to my hilarious incompetence). So now I’m unemployed again but I gained a lot of confidence from doing it, which is the important thing.

I’ve developed a rather neat script idea for college which I plan to write into a full movie script when I get the time (certainly won’t be able to do it in college time).

I’ve been featured in the pages of Nintendo Gamer magazine (Issue 72) as their Lylat Wars Super Fan, in which I made a somewhat grand claim about being able to play it blind. I can’t; I’m familiar with all the enemy patterns, it’s just that my problem is that I can’t visualise.

I’ve had my laptop stolen twice, once in a house burglary and the other out of my Dad’s car. This pissed me off no end, let me tell you.

And now, as I start out with the best of intentions to keep this blog updated in the future, it only remains to tell you that I’ve embarked on a series-wide review of the James Bond films on Kasterborous’ sister site, Cult Britannia. Except Quantum Of Solace.

Leave a Reply

