No Weak Jokes On Mock The Week…

Saturday, June 19th, 2010

Much to my delight, I went on the BBC iPlayer in my boredom and found an old favourite waiting for me. The comedy panel show Mock The Week has made a welcome return to our screens to mock the current events of the world.

For the first episode, the regulars were joined by Milton Jones, old favourite Chris Addison and some bird called Diane Morgan. Milton came out with some god-awful puns, but then again, doesn’t everyone? The answer, of course, is yes. Chris Addison came out with some particularly good jokes, especially during my personal favourite round, Scenes We’d Like To See. Diane Morgan (who I’ve never heard of before this) was average and quite unfunny. It’s like if I got invited to go on there. There may occasionally be some funny insights (and even then that’s expecting a bit much of me), but nothing on the level of the professional comedians.

The regulars themselves were on top form (with some jokes at the expense of the other regulars), with the chemistry between Dara and the gang being apparent, as it’s obvious that they all know each other and have become accustomed to working together. A personal problem with this episode is that it didn’t have the excellent Stewart Francis in it. That’s nothing to do with the producers of the show, though, and if anything it’s wishful thinking on my part. He is a master of the one-liner. Look him up on YouTube. Some of his punchlines make you want to punch his line (what?) but you’ll be too busy laughing to care.

The Stand-Up Round (I forget its actual name at the moment) was good for showcasing the skills of three of the contestants (because there’s still the pretence of a game going on) at stand up. Well, two, Diane wasn’t that funny as I mentioned earlier. It was here that Milton unleashed many of the puns that make you want to punch him in a good-natured way. Having said that, he was pretty funny and I found myself laughing as well as groaning at some of the jokes that he came out with. He looked perpetually nervous, which was very odd as you would think he’d be used to it by now. He looked like a scared child who’d wandered onto the stage by mistake.

Scenes We’d Like To See was as brilliant as ever, with the scenarios (Commercials That Were Never Aired and Things You Don’t Want To Hear In A Hospital) proving to be great choices for the gang, as they put forward some fine suggestions.

After that round finishes, I turn off the programme as there is nothing worth hearing, just finding out which team won (which is completely random anyway) and the credits.

Which leads me neatly to the end of the review. I thought this particular episode could’ve been improved by having someone who was funnier than that Diane Morgan (not that she wasn’t funny, just not that funny). It kept me laughing most of the time though, which is better than most comedies that I watch. All in all, a good episode, and I will be watching over the weeks to come in hope of more like this.

Leave a Reply

