I Am Now In The Twenty-First Century Again…

Tuesday, April 13th, 2010

So, I finally got with the times and created my own YouTube account, so that I can upload videos and subscribe to my favourite people, rather than observing over Boy’s shoulder.

In honour of this momentous occasion, I have decided to write about how I made my first video, which was a class project and is currently being uploaded as I write.

The project was called ‘Attack Of The Killer Crisp Packets’, and it was adapted from an old idea that my friends and I had to do as a class project on a different course, which never went through. I thought about it, and realised that the crisp packets would work well with Lego, which my teacher said he could get hold of. I was going to use the studio downstairs to make the film, but that’s where the trouble began.

You see, somebody stole one of the stop motion cameras. The teacher still had one, but he said we couldn’t have unsupervised access after that, so I spent a few lessons trying to work around it until he gave in and let me use the camera and Lego within the classroom.

I was on a tight schedule and starting to appreciate the difficulties of stop motion. One problem is, it’s exceedingly dull. A couple of times I found myself lulled into a rhythm and found myself taking pictures of my hand manipulating an element of the film. It took weeks just to cobble together the 30 seconds or so of film that I present on my YouTube Channel Thing. I found that whenever I’d solved one problem, another would crop up.

My deadline came and went, until I reached the stage where I had only the voicework to do. Unfortunately, we started on other stuff, so this project went by the layside for a bit until I’d bugged my teacher enough to let me in the sound booth one day and record what I needed.

I finally got into the booth to record my voiceover and dialogue and then realised the dialogue would have to go, otherwise it would conflict with the voiceover. So I improvised a Don LaFontaine style voiceover which is what you have on the finished video. I wasn’t entirely happy with it when my teacher played it back (especially when we discovered that one line repeated), but he said that it doesn’t particularly matter. So what you see is what you get with this video, I’m afraid.

And yes, like the description says, I am aware of the flaws in this video, which make me appreciate the importance of the continuity people in films. Especially after watching Great Movie Mistakes on the iPlayer (excellent programme, by the way).

My YouTube handle is ThatGuy12901 (for future reference), and this post has been written in less time that it has taken me to upload the video.

Leave a Reply

