Merry Blogmas, And To All A Good Blog…

Thursday, December 24th, 2009

With Christmas just around the corner, I felt now more than ever would be a fitting time to write up a little Christmas blog. So I’m going to give all of you a little present in the form of a hopefully entertaining Christmas post. No Christmas would be quite complete without the same round of repeats of Only Fools And Horses holiday specials and the same old clip shows that you see every single year. You will also see a lot of compilation shows of Chrimbo number ones and things like that.

Rather oddly, I can’t really find many movies on at this time of year worth watching. The only one of remote interest to me is Blade Runner, which is not in the least bit Christmassy (still good though). You thought there would be A Christmas Carol and Its A Wonderful Life, etc. Instead, we get the aforementioned Blade Runner and The Hound Of The Baskervilles!

Tonight we get a Christmas edition of the excellent show QI. Haven’t seen it yet, but it looks promising; I may end up reviewing it tomorrow as another present to my readers. Over on E4+1×5 as I write this is a Christmas episode of F.R.I.E.N.D.S, which is funny and vaguely in keeping with the Christmas spirit, that’s always nice to see. I love Christmas, if only because it’s one of the few days that I can eat a big damn plate of food and not get reprimanded for it.

Tomorrow there is a Christmas special of Doctor Who, which looks like it will be good. Obviously, I am looking forward to eating this over a cracking Christmas dinner with my family.

People complain about Christmas being a capitalist holiday that is only used for making money for the big department stores, but that’s part of the appeal. Spending money on things that you normally don’t have the money to buy or wouldn’t buy is a good thing to do. If you don’t have the best of incomes, it’s one of the best times to be extravagant.

Christmas is traditionally celebrated as a time of peace, goodwill and 3 ghosts that appear for some reason. So I see no reason to not let that continue. If there’s one good contribution Jesus made to the world (and there is), it’s the holiday that was named in his honour.

So I’ll leave you on this note. Life is too short to not share the love you have every once in a while. Enjoy the time that you spend with your family this year. Merry Christmas, and love to all my readers.

Leave a Reply

