“Come On Watson, The New Movie Is Afoot!”

Tuesday, December 15th, 2009

As I write this, the new Sherlock Holmes movie is coming out in less than two weeks. On my birthday, in fact. If I can drag my woman to it, I plan to have a review of it up here the day afterwards. But for now, I must find myself content with offering a preview to anyone who wants to read it.

This movie (from what I can gather of the thrice-viewed trailer) appears to be a rougher, more action prone Holmes for the new generation. Both Holmes and Watson are played by handsome men (Robert Downey Jr. and Jude Law respectively) in this Guy Ritchie directed movie. Considering Guy Ritchie directed the excellent gangster movie Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels, that’s no bad thing.

As with any adaptation of loved characters or franchises for a modern audience, I’m sure many people will be saying ‘he doesn’t do this in the books’, or to put it another way ‘MUR MUR MUR’. It’s a new story for the new age, so there are naturally bound to be any number of elements that clash with Doyle’s characterisations.

Mercifully, they appear to have concocted a fresh story for this movie, rather than resorting to adapting one of the many stories that have already been covered. The new story involves the same characters, a new villain and some choice names from the original stories (but a surprising lack of Moriaty as the film’s villain, considering he is seen as the main villain of the series), such as Irene Adler and Mary Morstan as Watson’s love interest.

Those of you who know me well (and that’s all of you) will know that I have decided not to trust trailers, so I have decided to watch this film without really knowing a lot about it. To that end, the only research I have done for it is reading the Wikipedia article for the purposes of this preview. I wouldn’t have watched the trailer at all but I didn’t have any choice about it and fortunately I cannot remember much of it anyway.

As a keen Sherlockian myself, I loved the original stories and have tried the Sherlock Scan on many people without success. so I await this film and the results with great interest. To tide me over, I have a big compilation book of Doyle’s stories by my side. Now off to read them…

Leave a Reply

