I Saw This One Coming…

Tuesday, November 24th, 2009

Since I was a sprogling, I can remember being able to see vague glimpses of my future in dreams. After a couple of intriguing deja-vu moments scattered through my life (I say a couple, I’ve always been susceptible to these), I have come to the conclusion that this could be one of two things.

The first theory: that humans have the capacity to see the future, but the vast majority can only do it in a dreamlike state, which is why you don’t remember the dreams.

The second: that it is all a massive coincidence. Skeptics will doubtless go with this last theory. There is some mileage in this theory, but I don’t believe that we have all the answers, and that taking this option would be the easy way out. Don’t get me wrong though, I’m not saying it’s a bad thing to think that it’s all a coincidence.

Obviously, there are dreams that would be easy to distinguish from what will happen, such as apocalypse scenarios or deaths of loved ones or suchlike. It’s the little ones that get deja-vu on you, because you never know if you were just repeating yourself or actually saw the future. Another problem with this is that you never really discover anything useful from this, like lottery numbers or a particular horse winning a race. Considering that you don’t remember most of the dreams, you can’t do anything about it anyway.

This leads to the rather depressing possibility, but the one that is most likely when you think about it, that our future and our past are both written in stone (completely contradicting Back To The Future, but there we are). The reason this is depressing is because it suggests we have no control over what happens to us, or what we become. It suggests that anything bad that happens was always going to happen from the start. This would suggest the existence of God to those that believe, since it would be interpreted evidence of a larger plan. It would also completely eliminate free will from the equation, since you can’t have free will if your choices are already set.

This fits into my overarching theory that the mind is capable of great things if you know how to control it. I’m not going to go into the realms of the fantastic here, but we have all heard of things like the placebo effect or the power of positive thinking. This is why things like astral projection are felt to exist; because people believe it’s possible. I believe it might just be possible, but I’m not saying it’s right. It could all be a coincidence, but my mind remains open to anything, since I know that we don’t know all the answers about our world, nor should we presume to.

If we accept the rather unlikely possibility that we have the capability to see the future as a truth, would it have existed from the dawn of our race? It could be something we were formerly able to do consciously but that we have forgotten over the years, like a racial memory or something . This could lend an air of truth to the Mayan myth of what will happen in 2012. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not saying it’s true. If we get to December 20th (guessing here), 2012 and the world does end, I’ll eat my head. It’s not like anyone will live long enough to care. Unfortunately, if it is true, there’s an unexpected downside: I’ll have no presents before I die.

 

 

Leave a Reply

