“And When He Woke Up…He Realised That The Trailers Had Spoiled The Best Bits!”

Wednesday, November 18th, 2009

Over the last few weeks in my film reviews, I have mentioned several times that I don’t like trailers and don’t trust them. This being a slow blogging day, I figured now would be a good time to explain why.

Every time I watch a trailer, I basically have the same thought: is this supposed to strike me as good? Because this sounds like exactly the kind of thing that gets quoted or ‘OMG’ed about to no end. And that annoys me. It annoys me that due to the very viral nature of the internet and television, every trailer must get overexposed and drained of any impact it may have had, so when the trailer scenes come up in the film I can barely watch them.

The main culprits are, in my humble opinion, the Die Hard 4.0 trailer and the Indiana Jones 4 trailer.

“You killed a helicopter with a car!” “I was out of bullets…”

“Damn, I thought that was closer.”

How many of us have heard those lines without actually seeing the films in question? Due to the trailers, they get everywhere, and it starts to grate.

Apart from the problem that I’ve already described, trailers have another problem. They showcase the best parts of the movie. I like any action, comedy or horror I see to be as unspoiled as possible, so trailers pretty much spoil them for me. I think I can safely say that the above lines would’ve had much more impact unspoiled.

Obviously, not all trailers are bad (but I still don’t watch them), but the weird thing is that none come to mind.

All this, of course, is a matter of opinion. So I am intrigued to know yours. Comment and let me know what you think.

Leave a Reply

