“Peek-a-boo! I see you… (shit, where’s he gone?)”

Wednesday, November 11th, 2009

There are three Heroes-style abilities that I would love to possess in real life. They are self-propelled flight, time travel, and the ability to teleport myself at will (by which I mean just by thinking about it) to any other location. It doesn’t even have to be instantaneous, but it would save me a lot of money, resources, etc.  Like I mentioned in my previous post, it would make seeing loved ones much easier, it would make sure you turn up to work or school on time (or it would allow you to skip school or work if you so desired). Plus, the amount of times I have wished I could be somewhere else is surely a factor in this desire.

As someone who is quite easily bored unless I have a book in my hand, the appeal to be somewhere else would be one I’d act on quite often, I suspect. And I would also use it to be a superhero, naturally. Mind you, with the power of teleportation, the allure of crime would be somewhat stronger. After all, what’s to stop you stealing everything you can get your hands on if you can’t be stopped from sprinting out of the store then disappearing once you’re around the corner? Plus, if you can refine it enough so only the objects teleport and you don’t, they’d find it very hard to prove you were stealing anything (unless they used very accurate CCTV), as the objects wouldn’t be on your person. Even if they did take you in, you could just disappear from custody. They could respond to this by putting out an APB, but again we come to the easy solution. There would be literally no cage built that could hold you. And that kind of power is not to be laughed at.

I imagine that all this crime-committing would soon lead to super villainy, but under the circumstances it’s hardly surprising. That is, of course, assuming you can teleport at will anywhere you want. If you can’t, it’s not really worth bothering with. You would do well to find out your limits before embarking on a life of super-powered crime though, as you don’t want to be defeated by some Superman-alike who finds your Achilles-heel. You also don’t want to teleport your enemies into a volcano only to find that the heat does something to stop you from teleporting out.

If you were a single person with the power of teleportation, then there’s not much they can do to stop you teleporting wherever you want. However, if the teleporting was done through devices, much like Star Trek or some episodes of Doctor Who, I imagine there would be safeguards and regulations that meant you couldn’t just drop in uninvited, maybe dropping you outside their house instead or putting something like ‘You have reached your destination.’ This is because even in the future, computer devices can be obstructive. And this would be a good idea, because people (especially celebrities, as they’d surely be the ones most targeted for unexpected teleport stalking) still need their privacy, even in the future.

I realise it probably says something about me that the bit I wrote most about was the way this power could be turned to crime, but look me in the eyes and tell me that you wouldn’t abuse this power in some way, even in the pursuit of good? Didn’t think so.

Leave a Reply

